Guyana launches new EITI multi-stakeholder group

Must Read

OilNOW is an online-based Information and Resource Centre

Guyana’s Ministry of Natural Resources appointed a new 12-member multi-stakeholder group (MSG) on Monday to oversee the implementation of the country’s obligations to the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI).

It is the second such appointment since the country joined the initiative in 2017.

Member countries are required to appoint a group comprising representatives from government, civil society and the extractive industry.

The team is responsible for implementing the EITI standard, a mechanism to ensure transparency and accountability. The EITI’s requirements span a country’s entire legal and institutional framework, including allocation of contracts and licenses. It also touches exploration and production, revenue collection, revenue allocations, social and economic spending, and the outcomes and impacts of implementation.

The most important and immediate requirement of the new MSG is to complete and submit Guyana’s third EITI report. Due to the pandemic, Guyana benefited from an extension to December 31, 2021.

Minister of Natural Resources, Vickram Bharrat, urged the group to work quickly and diligently to meet the deadline. He informed the GYEITI Secretariat that the international EITI Secretariat has offered training for the multi-stakeholder and advised that they take up the offer.

The group consists of four members from government, four from civil society and four from industry.

The industry appointees include the representative for ExxonMobil Guyana, Jesus Bronchalo and the representative for Repsol Guyana, Ryan Ramjit. The other two industry appointees are Andron Alphonso from the Guyana Gold and Diamond Miners Association (GGDMA) and Rafeek Khan from the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association (GMSA), which includes the forestry sector.

Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Natural Resources, Joslyn McKenzie explained that the oil and gas sector has two nominees due to its relative importance.

The government’s four appointees are Sonya Roopnauth, Hema Khan, Vanelda Harris and Michael Munroe. The appointees from civil society are Nicholas Fredericks, Larry Carryl, Gomin Camacho and Vanda Radzik.

Alternate members are also available to take the place of the primary members in meetings if they are absent.


Partnered Events

Latest News

Guyana taps Fulcrum LNG to partner with Exxon, government on gas development

Guyana has identified Fulcrum LNG to potentially partner with it and ExxonMobil on a natural gas development, President Irfaan...

More Articles Like This