CARICOM Heads renew support for Guyana in border controversy case with Venezuela

Must Read

OilNOW is an online-based Information and Resource Centre

CARICOM Heads of Government recently received an update on the most recent developments in the controversy between the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and were keen to renew their support for the former.

They noted that Guyana will be submitting its Memorial on March 8, 2022, in accordance with the schedule set by the International Court of Justice (ICJ) to hear the case on the merits of Guyana’s application concerning the validity of the Arbitral Award of 1899 and the related question of the definitive settlement of the land boundary between the two countries.

Heads of Government reiterated their full support for the ongoing judicial process that is intended to bring a peaceful and definitive end to the long-standing controversy between the two countries and urged Venezuela to participate in the process.

Heads of Government also reaffirmed their firm and unwavering support for the maintenance and preservation of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Guyana.

The foregoing show of support was recorded at the Thirty-Third Inter-Sessional Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community which was held on March 1 and 2, 2022.  Chair of the Conference, the Prime Minister of Belize, John Briceño presided over the proceedings.

Other Members of the Conference in attendance were: Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Gaston Browne (virtually); Prime Minister of The Bahamas,  Philip Davis; Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C; MP;  Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit; Prime Minister of Grenada, Dr. Keith Mitchell; President of Guyana, Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali; Prime Minister of Haiti, Ariel Henry; Prime Minister of Jamaica, Andrew Holness (virtually); Premier of Montserrat,  Easton Taylor-Farrell; Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr. Timothy Harris (virtually); Prime Minister of Saint Lucia, Phillip Pierre (virtually); and President of Suriname, Chandrikapersad Santokhi.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines was represented by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Transport, Works, Lands and Physical Planning, Montgomery Daniel; Trinidad and Tobago was represented by the Minister of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs, Senator Dr. Amery Browne.

Associate Members in attendance were Bermuda represented by Walter H. Roban Deputy Premier and Minister of Home Affairs; British Virgin Islands represented by Deputy Premier, Dr. Natalio Wheatley; and the Turks and Caicos Islands represented by Premier Charles Misick.


Partnered Events

Latest News

CIMC Raffles secures EPC contracts for Petrobras’ new FPSO hulls

CIMC Raffles, a subsidiary of CIMC Group, has been awarded the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) contract to supply...

More Articles Like This