Oil nation clinches first CPL title; ‘nothing short of exceptional’ says President Ali

Must Read

OilNOW is an online-based Information and Resource Centre

History was made on Sunday at Providence as the ExxonMobil-sponsored Guyana Amazon Warriors won the 2023 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) final, defeating the Trinbago Knight Riders by nine wickets.

This marks Guyana’s maiden CPL title for the franchise. 

In a Facebook comment on the victory, Guyana’s President, Dr. Irfaan Ali, said, “To the Guyana Amazon Warriors Franchise, management, Captain Imran Tahir and team, congratulations on nothing short of an exceptional tournament. You brought professionalism, teamwork, collective responsibility and commitment together to create this historic and memorable victory for Guyana.”

President Ali is pictured in the stands at one of the games held in Guyana.

Ali said the joy and pride the team has brought to fans is immeasurable. “As president, I speak on behalf of all of your fans and by extension all Guyanese, we are proud of you all.”

ExxonMobil Guyana is the exclusive sponsor of the Guyana Amazon Warriors. This is the sixth consecutive year that the company has been sponsoring the team.

President of ExxonMobil Guyana, Alistair Routledge (front row, 3rd from right) is pictured with the Guyana Amazon Warriors team.

This year the company is the exclusive sponsor for the men’s team and, for the first time, the women’s team.

Amazon Warriors are talismans for Guyana’s rise – Routledge as sponsorship renewed for 7th year

“We are thrilled to be part of this year’s tournament in such a tangible way. The many benefits of sport are well-known, and we take our role as a part of the Guyanese community very seriously,” said President of ExxonMobil Guyana, Alistair Routledge in announcing the sponsorship on August 24.  

See update from CPL below:

Guyana Amazon Warriors won the toss and chose to bowl first, producing a disciplined performance to bowl the Knight Riders out for just 94. Imran Tahir and Gudakesh Motie produced valuable economical spells, while Dwaine Pretorius took four wickets. 

It was a nervy chase from the Amazon Warriors in front of a home crowd as the Knight Riders tried to restrict runs with spin, however, Saim Ayub and Shai Hope, the two leading run scorers in CPL this season, would ultimately see the team over the line, winning by 9 wickets. 

Despite a 24-run opening stand between Chadwick Walton and Mark Deyal, the Knight Riders lost wickets at regular intervals, with three falling to seam bowling in the powerplay, including key batter Nicholas Pooran. 

Captain Kieron Pollard would fall straight after the powerplay, as spin began to play a vital role, with Motie and Tahir causing havoc, taking a combined four wickets between them and conceding just 15 runs in total. Keacy Carty would attempt to lead the resistance for the Knight Riders, but as he ran out of partners he found himself taking more risks, eventually falling to a brilliant Shimron Hetmyer catch. The Knight Riders would finish 94 all out. 

Guyana Amazon Warriors lost the early wicket of Keemo Paul, who was opening, which added tension to their chase. Knight Riders would deploy both Akeal Hosein and Sunil Narine in the powerplay in an attempt to prise more wickets, but the Amazon Warriors would end the powerplay on 29-1.  


Partnered Events

Latest News

“Look to our women population” – CLBD Director urges, to bridge 53,000 skilled worker gap 

Dr. Natasha Gaskin-Peters, Director of the Centre for Local Business Development (CLDB), has called on Guyana to leverage its...

More Articles Like This